16.7 C
Monday, April 22, 2024
HomeLatestNational Games boxing: Simranjit, Shiva, Saweety register straightforward win to advance to...

National Games boxing: Simranjit, Shiva, Saweety register straightforward win to advance to subsequent spherical

Ahmedabad(Gujarat)[India], October 8 (ANI): World championships medallists Simranjit Kaur Baath and Shiva Thapa produced related fury within the ring to outclass their respective opponents, and advance to the quarterfinals of the thirty sixth National Games on the Mahatma Mandir right here on Friday.World youth champion Sachin Siwach (57kg) of Haryana, who not too long ago bagged a bronze within the Elorda Cup in Kazakhstan, additionally progressed to the final eight after dispensing a scientific present. Similarly, Asian championship bronze medalist Saweety Boora of Haryana acquired off to a successful begin within the ladies’s 75kg middleweight division pre-quarterfinal bout.Punjab boxer Simranjit seemed in ominous kind in her opening bout within the ladies’s light-weight 60kg class as she unsettled 2019 National championship bronze medallist Rinki Sharma of Uttar Pradesh with ease.

The 2018 world championship bronze medallist dominated the proceedings all through the competition, beginning the bout by touchdown just a few headshots earlier than utilizing her mixture punches to good impact towards the 23-year-old UP boxer, who seemed clueless throughout the three rounds.

Simranjit, who was a part of the Tokyo Olympics group, managed to breach via her opponent’s defence on a number of events, earlier than forcing the referee to offer a standing depend of eight to Rinki within the last spherical, en-route to her unanimous 5-0 victory.

“I was playing against Rinki for the first time, so took some time to understand her style of boxing. It was a good warm-up for me going forward to the next rounds,” she mentioned after the bout.

Besides Simranjit, the opposite Punjab boxer to shine was Diksha Rajpoot, who outclassed Telangana’s Narmada Munigi to clinch a RSC first-round win within the ladies’s middleweight 75kg division. Similarly, in males’s light-weight 57kg, Vijay Kumar of Punjab recorded a surprising 5-0 win over Karnataka’s Krian BK, whereas in males’s welterweight 67kg, Vikash knocked out Bihar’s Haider Ali within the opening spherical.

Meanwhile, Shiva, recognized for his swift actions within the ring, warmed up in fashion by recording a 5-0 unanimous verdict win over dwelling pugilist Aniket J Pandey. The dwelling boxer was no match to the five-time Asian championship medalist from Assam, who used all his expertise to maintain the Gujarat boxer at bay.

“The National Games is the perfect platform to assess the talent in your weight category across the country. Every bout is important, doesn’t matter who the opponent is, we treat everyone as equal,” he mentioned.

“As the weight divisions have changed, there are many boxers who have come up from 63.5kg to 67kg and many from higher weights have come down, so the competition level has automatically gone up,” Shiva mentioned after the bout.

Sachin, who has been within the rollicking type of late, got here out all weapons blazing towards Arunachal Pradesh’s Amir Tajo, within the males’s 57kg featherweight class bout. Going into the conflict as a transparent favorite, Sachin lived as much as his billing and clinched the competition by RSC.

For the house crowd, Gujarat’s Asifali Asgharli Syed was the lone winner on the day, as the opposite boxers in motion didn’t get previous their opponents. Syed registered a 5-0 win towards Bihar’s Manish Kumar within the males’s 57kg featherweight class.

In the opposite bouts of the day, Assam’s Manju Basumatary registered an exciting 3-2 win over Gujarat’s Hetal Sundarji Dama within the ladies’s flyweight 52kg opener, whereas Madhya Pradesh’s Anjali Sharma (52kg), Manipur’s Ojibala Thounaojam (52kg), Himachal Pradesh’s Dimple Upadhayay (60kg), Delhi’s Shalakha Singh (75kg) and Himachal’s Shreetima Thakur (75kg) additionally made it to the following spherical.

Among the lads boxers, Tripura’s Karan Rupini (51kg), Rajasthan’s Bhim Pratap Singh (51kg), Himachal’s Avinash Channel (51kg) and Tamil Nadu’s Rama Krishnan Bala (51kg) registered wins. Chattisgarh’s S Sahil (57kg), Jharkhand’s Javod Dogma (57kg) and Services’ Etash Khan Muhammed (60kg) additionally progressed to the final eight levels. (ANI)