13.8 C
Friday, March 1, 2024
HomeLatestXinhua Asia-Pacific news summary at 1600 GMT, Nov. 10

Xinhua Asia-Pacific news summary at 1600 GMT, Nov. 10

TOKYO — The Japanese government on Thursday decided on a policy to allow each prefectural government to declare stepped-up coronavirus measures, amid growing concerns about the possible arrival of the eighth infection wave.

Japan’s health ministry also decided at a meeting to revise the current five-scale alert of infection status to a four-scale one. A level similar to the seventh wave or higher will be rated as Level 3, which means infections continue to expand. (Japan-Infection wave)

– – – –

VIENTIANE — The China-Laos Railway has received approval from Lao people including Prime Minister Phankham Viphavanh for its quality service during the That Luang Festival.

The That Luang Festival, running from Nov. 6 to 8 this year, is the most important religious festival in Laos. It is observed by the Lao people from all around the country and has attracted large crowds, including visitors from other countries. (Laos-China-Railway)

– – – –

JAKARTA — The hot-running test of the catenary system of the Jakarta-Bandung High-Speed Railway (HSR) trial section started on Wednesday, marked by the slow departure of the Chinese-made Electric Multiple Units from the Tegalluar Station in Bandung.

The hot-running test is aimed to ensure that the high-speed railway’s power supply equipment has met the requirements needed to conduct a series of joint tests later. This was the first time that the Electric Multiple Units which arrived in Indonesia on Sept. 1 appeared on the Jakarta-Bandung HSR track. (Indonesia-High-Speed Railway)

– – – –

PHNOM PENH — Cambodian Prime Minister Samdech Techo Hun Sen said here on Thursday that the Regional Comprehensive Economic Partnership (RCEP) trade pact will be a booster for regional trade and greater economic integration in the post-COVID-19 pandemic era.

Entering into force early this year, the RCEP comprises 15 Asia-Pacific countries including 10 ASEAN member states, namely Brunei, Cambodia, Indonesia, Laos, Malaysia, Myanmar, the Philippines, Singapore, Thailand and Vietnam, and their five trading partners, namely China, Japan, South Korea, Australia and New Zealand. (Cambodia-RCEP)